Reflection 2010

In thinking about this past year, I was brought back to my junior high years, when on many occasion would think about what life will be like in the year 2000.  Then with my amazing math skills would try and figure out how old I would be in the year 2000. Now that I’m at this point of reflecting on the year 2010, it’s hard to believe we’re already 10 years in to this new century.  Time certainly does fly doesn’t it?  As I look back over the last 12 months of my life, so many things have happened that have blessed my life, and yet many things have passed by without a second glance or thought.  Here’s a quick glance as to what has happened in my life over the course of the last year.

January – Of course, once again, I made a resolution to lose weight!  I’ll revisit this later on in the year.  Also, with much anticipation, started my second semester as a new administrator.

February – Once again, I was able to travel with my school on our annual East Coast Historic Study Tour.  What an amazing trip!

March – My sweet-spirited Caylee June turned 3 years old.

April – Always a special time of year to celebrate my Savior’s resurrection.  Jesus conquered death so I can be free!

May – Another moment of celebration, as I finished my first year as a Junior High Principal.  So many happy thoughts of accomplishment and plans for upcoming years in my new position.  My oldest daughter graduated from Kindergarten…she’s getting so big!

June – 7 years with the Love of my life!  God has blessed me beyond reason with my beautiful wife and best friend.  Also, my wife completed her first marathon!  I was so proud of her!

July – My Cami-girl celebrated her 6th birthday and looked forward to entering the 1st grade.  My little monkey, Caleb turned 2 (still seeking prayer), and has become a little man.  No more babies in the house; a big stepping stone for me and my wife.  We were also blessed to be with my Nana as she celebrated her 90th birthday!

August – I started my second year as an administrator.  Many exciting plans for the upcoming 2010-2011 school year and how the Lord was going to continue to use me in this position.

September – A new football season, and I’m not coaching.  A decision made at the end of last season.  I won’t lie, I missed being on the sidelines terribly, but knew I was doing the right thing by taking a step back and focusing on my family and job.  I also moved one step closer in my goal of achieving my black belt in Keichu do Karate by testing to get my yellow belt.

October – 34 years old (see previous post “Another year gone by” for those reflections).

November – Two months left in the year and I finally owned up to my resolution to lose weight.  I began this adventure at the beginning of November.  In a quick moment of reflection, I lost 74 pounds in 2006.  Since moving back from Oregon, I found it all and decided I needed to do it again for the sake of my health, and my family.  I covet your prayers as I continue on this “lifestyle change”.  We don’t use the “D” word in our house.

December – 24 pounds lost in one month!  Pretty motivating to continue on and lose more weight!  Want to know how I did it?  You’ll have to leave a comment and ask me 🙂 Christmas time is always an amazing time of reflection and joy to spend with family and friends as we celebrate our Savior’s birth.  Thank you Lord for sending us Your Son, and the incredible amount of rain we’re enjoying this time of year!

As 2010 comes to a close, I can not thank the Lord enough for His provisions in my life over this past year.  As I said earlier, so many wonderful things have happened this year, and yet an incredible amount slipped by without giving any notice at all.  As I think about 2011, I plan to give notice to more of the little things in life.  I don’t want anything to pass me by and not give an eye or an ear to what God has for me in the upcoming year.  May the Lord bless you and yours in the remainder of this year and as you begin 2011 with much anticipation!

One thought on “Reflection 2010

  1. Jeremy says:

    Sounds like you had a busy/fun year. I’ll keep you in prayer re: your diet..sorry I said the “D” word. It’s amazing how time flies. Doesn’t seem that long ago we were riding our bikes through Chino! God Bless you and your family Bro

    Like

Leave a Reply

