Why I Run

You may have noticed a change to my blog.  I’ve posted a badge for Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.  The reason I’ve done this is 1) To support this amazing organization, and 2) My wife has joined with Team in Training.  She raises money and runs marathons to support LLS.  I wanted to share my wife’s story in the hope that it will encourage you to support LLS and maybe even partner with TNT one day.  God bless you!

I have two quick glimpses of my past I would like to share with you.

Easter morning, March 1986.  I’m only 11 years old but I have wisdom far greater then my young age.  Today isn’t going to be a “normal” Easter Sunday for my family.  I reluctantly left my Daddy’s hospital room to get dressed for the day.  A few short minutes later my Aunt comes to find me and tells me that my Daddy has gone.  Gone where?  Down the hall, to work, on vacation?  No, he’s gone to heaven.  I’m only 11 years old but I already know that this is not something I want any other child to have to deal with and I know that some day I will do something to help that!

Late January 2001.  It’s been 9 months since Marcel & I said; “I do” to spending the rest of our lives together.  Here we sit, speaking with the Hospice coordinator, our Oncologist, and a nurse.  Everything has been done to stop the tumor from growing, but now Marcel has a blood infection, there is simply nothing more any doctor can do.  It’s up to our Great Physician to heal Marcel according to His will.  Not two weeks after setting up a hospital in our small home, Marcel is no longer in pain.  Our Father has decided that Marcel has served the purpose he was put on this earth for.   Praise the Lord; Marcel has been healed, but certainly not according to this world’s hopes or prayers.

Why did I need to share this with you?  Talking about the trials God has brought me through is therapeutic and healing.  But I have realized that talking about it is just not enough for me.  There is much more healing to take place.  After many years of thoughts and several months of prayer, I know my Father helped me find another way to help heal me.  That is why I am training with Team In Training and raising money to help find a cure for blood related cancers.  Thank you for joining me in this journey I am taking.  Every penny raised is a blessing to so many!

Running for the Eternal Prize,

Jessica Stevens

One thought on “Why I Run

Leave a Reply

