The miserable human condition

Who are we to think that we can overcome our own sin by ourselves? Only one thing will happen, you will falter, fail, and succumb to what you were trying to overcome, guaranteed! You will be a slave to your own self (John 8:34). One of the biggest components that we need to recognize is our own pride. It can and will be the largest force against us. Drop it…Release it!

Just yesterday, I found myself in a situation where I had to fight against my sinful nature. I admit, I failed. Simply because I chose to ignore the Spirit’s voice and feed my desire that in no way honored my Heavenly Father. My biggest mistake was my pride. I allowed “me” to dictate my life. That may sound awkward, but my life is not mine. I now belong to the Lord (1 Peter 4:1-6).

“For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again. Therefore, from now on, we regard no one according to the flesh. Even though we have known Christ according to the flesh, yet now we know Him thus no longer. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.” ~ 2 Corinthians 5:14-17

Even Jonathan Edwards (one we place on a very high pedestal as one of America’s greatest evangelists) recognized his own sin and the absolute need of the Holy Spirit to overcome all the obstacles that will ensnare us:

“I find, by experience, that, let me make resolutions, and do what I will, with never so many inventions, it is all nothing, and to no purpose at all, without the motions of the Spirit of God…There [must be] no dependence on myself. Our resolutions may be at the highest one day, and yet, the next day, we may be in a miserable dead condition, not at all like the same person who resolved. So that it is to no purpose to resolve, except we depend on the grace of God. For, if it were not for his mere grace, one might be a very good man one day, and a very wicked one the next.” (January 2, 1722)

How true it is that one day we will be walking strong in our faith, and the next, as Edwards put it, “[be] in a miserable dead condition.”  When we commit ourselves to the Lord, He assures us that our sins will be forgiven and forgotten (Psalm 103:11-14).  The Lord forgets, we do not.  This is the battle that we face on a daily basis.  We will constantly struggle in our sin and the temptations that Satan puts before us.  It is our duty to equip ourselves to fight those daily battles (Ephesians 6:12-13).  Be strong and courageous to face the enemy, trust in the Holy Spirit, deny the temptations, and walk upright in God’s presence!

Rak Chazak!

Leave a Reply

