I Am Second

I Am Second

Live Second Blogging Campaign

Last week, I joined a community of bloggers for a blogging challenge through I Am Second and their “Week-of-Second Blogging Campaign”.  Through the week of December 9-15, I’ll be posting 4 times (December 9, 11, 13, and 15).  Each post will be in response to the upcoming book entitled, “Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First” by Doug Bender.

I started blogging quite a few years ago, but it never stuck.  I knew it was something I wanted to do, but never quite knew how to go about it.  I initially started on MySpace, but that lasted for about a week.  I then moved over to Blogger.  I wanted to create a blog dedicated to my passion for United States History.  That lasted a bit longer, but I never stuck with it enough to make it worthwhile.  Then I was turned on to my latest adventure in WordPress (thanks to @jenwagner, a good friend who really encouraged me to write, write, write).  So since August of 2010, I’ve been blogging.  I took a little hiatus, as I looked in to the Tumblr platform.  I don’t have an issue with Tumblr, but I simply didn’t feel inspired to write.  I returned to my WordPress site in January of 2012 and haven’t looked back since.  All in all, I would not consider myself to be an avid blogger.  I write when I feel inspired and/or encouraged by something in life, or from my experiences in education.  More often than not, when the Lord places something on my heart from His Word or that I’ve learned through out my walk in Christ.  As you read through my posts, you’ll see it’s quite sporadic.  But I do have hope that as you read, there is one thing that pops off the screen: that I am a Christian and I am not willing to compromise my faith for anything!

This is why I have joined the I Am Second blogging campaign.  I’m not viewing this as an excuse to write more about my faith.  But rather as an opportunity to continue to share what the Lord has done in my life.  This is an opportunity to express my gratitude and love for my Heavenly Father who, by His sacrifice and grace, saved me from eternal torment and separation from Him.  This is an opportunity to connect, share, and be inspired by many others who have joined the campaign.  What an awesome experience to fellowship with believers all over the world who share a common love for God and desire to share it with others.

So, here I am.  Proclaiming to the world that I AM SECOND!  There is nothing in this world that will take precedence over my Abba Father!  1 John 4:19 declares, “We love because he first loved us.”  And as John 1:1 tells us, He was first.  Therefore we are second as His children created to honor, praise, love, and serve Him every day, and in every way.

If you are interested in joining the campaign, email I Am Second at launch@iamsecond.com.  You’ll be given the opportunity to read the book and take part in an awesome collaborative effort to share your faith and your love for God and others. If you’re not the blogging type, definitely check out the I Am Second website.  I guarantee you’ll be inspired and encouraged in your faith through the testimony of others.  Rak Chazak “Second-placers” and may the Lord bless you!!

Leave a Reply

