Random Writers Rants: Prompt #1

rwr2013 Prompt1

Ok, we’re going to make a go of this.  That first bite of my banana was pretty tasty.  But seriously, this is going to be an interesting process to think about what it is that I’m going to write about in response to my…press the italics buttoninner monologue as I sit down to write.  That lawn mower is really loud right now.  Stir your oatmeal.  So what does one really think about as they sit down to write?

I want so bad to write like I normally do.  I take the time to mentally outline.  Why does my nose itch?  Trying my best to apply scripture to what it is that I’m going to write about.  By no means am I a pastor, preacher, or even think that I’m qualified to share the gospel, but I’m just doing my best to share what the Lord has taught me.  That line was stupid…erase…  I don’t even consider myself a writer.  Oatmeal.  Need to stir again.  Still hot.  So why have a blog?  Why publish?  Because people need to hear from people just like them.  Someone they can identify with.  Someone they can relate to.  That’s my hope…prayerno, hopenevermind, keep going.

People want to write for various reasons.  To impress.  What am I saying?  People write for thousands of reasons. To sound intellectual.  To attract followers.  How many followers do I have?  Focus!  Some want to share the gospel.  They want to live out the true meaning of…mention scripture reference, or just label as ‘the Great Commission’…the Great Commission.  My coffee’s half empty.  Now my ear itches.  I swear I took a shower this morning.  I used a q-tip.  Take another bite of your banana.  I heard it once said…nope…I saw someone post on Twitter,

“When students complete their homework, they want it to be good enough.  Yet when they post their homework or writing online, they desire that it’s as good as can be.”

Or something like that.  You get the point.  When I sit down to write a new blog post, I know that it could potentially be seen around the world…close the dooroatmeal is so good…Nana…brown sugar.  If there is the potential that my writing will be read in various countries, why would I not want it to be good…gooderdon’t dwell on it.  Focus!  See what I mean?!  What if every time I sat down to write, I simply wrote exactly what I was thinking?  It wouldn’t make a whole lot of sense…centsmoney.  My desire is to share the message of Jesus in and through my blog.  If I’m not as clear as can be, I’m increasing the potential that my readers will not understand.  I would be very discouraged if someone became confused about the gospel message…Jesus Christ, my Savior…through what I’m trying to say…communicate.

So here’s to writing.  A process in which one can tell the world exactly what is on their mind, with a tremendous amount of editing…what are those kids screaming about?!  So, now…I can’t type today…is the time to answer the first prompt in this new blogging challenge…indent the prompt as a quote.

“Write about the interior monologue you experience when you sit down to write.”

That looks pretty good.  This will be challenging.  It’s something I’ve never really thought about.  I wonder what I should write about??  I hate the sound of the spoon scraping the bottom of an empty styrofoamis that spelled correctly?cupFOCUS!

…what scripture reference should I use?…It’s got to be good…clear…concise…Got it!

“For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds.  We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ.” ~ 2 Corinthians 10:4,5 (ESV)

…Is that the one?…I wonder if…FOCUS!!

642 Things* This post was written as part of a blogging challenge based upon the book ‘642 Things To Write About’ by The San Francisco Writers’ Grotto.

9 thoughts on “Random Writers Rants: Prompt #1

  1. Cathy says:

    Haha. Yes that is the struggle to be ourselves but the truth is ourselves are in Christ and thus should preach Him and not us!! Thanks Cam.

    Like

    • Jeanette says:

      I am with you cares! This was a Radtastic display of the challenge I think many writers face….. well, at least I know I do. The beauty in that verse…. is that through the power and authority of the saving grace of Jesus Christ we have the ability to take EVERY THOUGHT CAPTIVE to be obedient to Jesus.

      The other thing that I see in this posting is the longing to be clear and concise about the gospel of Jesus Christ… especially since the power of death and life are in the tongue (Prov. 18:21a) and “A soothing tongue is a tree of life, but perversion in it crushes the spirit”. (Proverbs 15:4)

      I am thankful for the authenticity and openness of heart in his writing. 🙂 Thank you for encouraging others who read as well as those who write. 🙂

      Like

  2. Holly Stevens says:

    Luved it! Made me think of 1 Cor. 10:5… take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. …this is no easy task!
    Looking forward to lots more of your thoughts…even is they include oatmeal, styrofoam, & itchy noses!

    Like

  3. Holly says:

    I luved this post!!! I misspelled a word in my comment…ugh, hate when I do that! Can you correct it??

    Excited to read more & more of these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

