Top 3 of 2014

images-3Even though 2014 was a bit of a down year for “Rak Chazak”, it doesn’t mean that I am giving up on this blog.  I love the opportunity to share what the Lord has taught me, and will continue to teach me in the years to come.  One thing is for sure, 2014 has been a year of change!  This biggest of which came about half way through this year.  In following the Lord’s call on my life, I closed the door on my professional career in education.  Even now, that’s a hard thing to say.  Yet, as my family has been walking ever so steady through our new calling in life, God’s mercies, grace, and faithfulness have been ever-present in our times of need.  Yes, the “s” is in bold because we have needed to rely upon God on a daily, if not hourly basis.  As I look back on what I’ve published this past year, it can be a telling, if not revealing glimpse in to my heart.  Extremely humbled by His grace, yet extremely proud to be called one of His own.

I’d like to say I wrote a whole lot more this past year, but the fact remains that I published only 21 posts in 2014.  I’m not even gonna begin to make a resolution about how much I’ll write in 2015.  Only time will tell.  The only thing I pray is that this blog continues to be a source of encouragement for those of you who come back time and time again to read.

So without further ado, I bring to you the Top 3 posts of 2014 (in published order):

1. Why I’m walking away from my career #career #discipleship #faith

“So why am I walking away from it all?  Why leave the comfort and security of a contract, insurance, and benefits?  Sounds crazy, right?!  Insane?  Loony?  Foolish?  Irrational?  Un-American?”

Jesus said, ‘Follow Me.’  So I did.

2. The huddled masses are yearning to breathe free #immigration #freedom #liberty (most viewed post in 2014, and set the record for most viewed in one day)

“Here we are again.  More and more people desiring refuge in America are being met with boos and hisses.  Instead of food and accommodations, they are met with protest signs and American flags meant to show them that they don’t belong here.”

President Obama’s immigration reform hit very close to home when thousands were seeking refuge in a neighboring city.  The protests and hostility towards those seeking asylum was all too familiar for this former US History teacher.

3. What exactly are you doing?! #gospel #hope #ministry

“Here is what is so awesome about the Lord leading in this direction. I can and will be able to use my 14 years of education experience! I will still be on school campuses, ministering to students and teachers. In this situation, I will be able to help bring the gospel message to the public school system. How cool is that?!”

A lot of people asked, so you walked away from your career to enter full-time ministry.  You’re not a full-time pastor.  So what are you doing?

* My favorite from 2014 #children #parenting #growingup

“As my knuckles turned white in clenching the bleachers beneath me, I said ‘Go for it baby-girl.  Just be sure to check in with me every so often, okay?’  She responded, ‘Yes daddy.  I’ll come right back here to see you.’  And off she ran.”

This was a fun post for me to write.  It allowed for a lot of reflection on my own upbringing, and yet caused me to really inspect my own parenting techniques.  Because let’s face it, today’s society is very different from the one we grew up in.

With that, I wish you all of very Happy New Year!  As you move in to 2015, continue to be strong and courageous.  God promises that He will be with you no matter where you go!  Place your faith and trust in Him.  Listen, obey, and He’ll blow your mind with what He has for your life.  May the Lord bless, encourage, and uplift you in 2015 and beyond.  Rak Chazak my friends!

Leave a Reply

