Waffle fries vs. Homosexual marriage

Well of course I’m going to weigh in on this issue!  It’s Chik-fil-A appreciation day, right?!  So from what I hear, Mr. Dan Cathy stated his belief in traditional marriage between a man and a woman…and then all hell broke loose!  “You don’t belong in my town!”  “What an outlandish, discriminatory, verbal assault!”  “Death to the chicken sandwich!”  “The Muppets are for gay rights!”  And on, and on, and on…  I’ve heard so many perspectives on this story, and I gotta say, I will never look at a chicken sandwich or Kermit the frog the same from here on out

I read something on Twitter today that I thought was an interesting perspective.  This individual stated, “Apparently nothing unites Christians in the U.S. like a common “enemy.”  To my LGBT brothers & sisters, I am so sorry. This is embarrassing.”  That got me thinking.  Is the Christian community united against the LGBT community?  Are Christians standing in line for an hour and a half for waffle fries because they are making a stand against a common “enemy”?  I’m sure there are various reasons why people are supporting Chik-fil-A today, but I guess I thought they were supporting the individual right to speak up for what they believe in?  If Christians were going to rally against the LGBT community and homosexual marriage, I’m sure they wouldn’t raise their fists of fury while drinking an oreo milkshake.  I’m pretty sure the Christian community made their voice heard on election day when gay marriage was put on the ballot.  At least in California they did.  I think it’s amusing how society has depicted this issue as if it were the Crusades and we’re marching on Washington with the Bible in one hand, a sword in the other, and slashing every gay person we come in contact with along the way.

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I present to you that this is simply a display of what true community is all about.  Instead of having a ticker-tape parade down Broadway to show the world our colors, we that believe in traditional marriage, decided to stand together, wait in line, and fellowship over a nice cool glass of sweet tea.  This is not an attack against homosexuality.  This is not a catalyst that will drive our nation in to another civil war; at least let’s hope not.  I heard those blue and gray wool uniforms were uncomfortable, and I don’t like to eat hard tack.

If there’s one thing that I’ve enjoyed from all this, it’s that America’s true identity has been shown.  We are a diverse nation of many beliefs (political, cultural, religious) and we’re not afraid to stand up for what we believe in.  Let’s not forget that this is how our nation was formed.  Patrick Henry, Thomas Jefferson, John and Samuel Adams, and many others simply did what Dan Cathy did…they used their voice to declare what they believe in.  It’s a fundamental American right.  But yet, today’s society says that it’s only okay to use that right if you don’t hurt someone else’s feelings.  Well, we have to learn that the freedom of speech comes along with something else, the freedom to be offended.  You will be offended at times by what others say, do, and believe in.  It’s going to happen.  You can either accept it, learn from it, and allow those freedoms to help shape and strengthen who you are and what you believe in, or not.  You can remain a self-centered, ignorant individual who has no appreciation for others that are different from you.  In this case, it was Chik-fil-A that brought a community together in support of traditional marriage and the freedom of speech.

Ok, I’m done.  This Christian who believes in God, biblically based marriage, family, and America is going to go and enjoy himself a chicken sandwich with American cheese, waffle fries, a large sweet tea, and some Chik-fil-A sauce for his dipping pleasure.

3 thoughts on “Waffle fries vs. Homosexual marriage

  1. RebeccaAarup says:

    Unless you’re a vegan…but I still love the support shown for Dan Cathy. Its really disturbing, however, to see messages on social media that say things like we “bigots” should all die in a fire. Yeah, that’s tolerance for ya.

    Like

    • Cameron Stevens says:

      Me?! Vegan?! Not so much 🙂 you’re right. It’s the whole splinter/plank in your eye thing. People have a very difficult time showing love when passion gets in the way. I’m starting to think that tolerance is a one-way street in today’s society. Thanks for standing strong in your beliefs Rebecca! Keep writing, posting, and giving God the glory in all things. God bless!

      Like

      • RebeccaAarup says:

        Thanks for the encouragement. I’m a vegan, actually, so that’s why I made that comment. I did not run out and support chick-fil-a because I don’t eat chickens BUT I did enjoy seeing people come together for a common good and supporting freedom of speech…etc. 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment